Taking chances.

My friends and I are similar in many ways, but we’re complete opposites in others — especially on trying new things. While my friends may be more aggressive in trying different things, I’m more reserved, and have kept to myself. I resist and often fear putting myself out there , while my friends positively crave trying new things. For as long as I have remembered, I didn’t enjoy putting myself in a position where I could be embarrassed or judged. I became so shy, and introverted that I did  anything to prevent from failing. And just like that, I went day by day holding myself back.

One day, whilst looking at my report card I noticed something peculiar. I had received 95’s-100% in everything, except in participation. I had received a 60% in participation, due to the fact I rarely talked. I pondered for a bit, on why I had never participated, and taken a risk. 

I thought to myself, I was  so caught up with how others thought about me, that I was never able to live my life to it’s greatest potential. In order for us to really take advantage of all we are capable of and all that life has to offer, we have to take some chances. By being so cautious, we end up holding ourselves back, from what we can actually do with our lives. 

Yes, we might fail, but failing is the only way we will ever learn anything. It’s the only way you’ll ever get to success. The sooner you stop worrying, and obsessing over your past mistakes, the sooner you’ll accomplish greatness.

As Thomas Edison once said “I have not failed. I’ve found 10,000 ways that won’t work. Our greatest way to succeed is always to try just one more time.” 

So go out there.  And take a chance!

 

Leave a Reply

